The History of Waltham Abbey Town Council

Waltham Abbey Town Council was created in 1974 at the time of Local Government Reorganisation when the former Waltham Holy Cross Urban District Council applied for parish status. The main functions of the former urban district council were transferred to the newly formed Epping Forest District Council, however many functions such as cemeteries, parks, some recreation spaces, allotments and the charter market were passed to the successor parish of Waltham Abbey Town Council.

The Council’s eleven members are elected by the community for a four year term of office. A Mayor is elected annually from among the elected Members of the Council. The Council is administered by the Town Clerk and various administrative staff and is responsible for an increasing number of services including the Town Mead Leisure Park which includes Town Mead Bar and the Mead Function Suite (temporarily closed). There are a further three recreation grounds, adventure play areas,, skate park, two cemeteries, allotment sites and the twice weekly retail market. The Tourist Information Centre and the Town Hall with the Cornmill Function Suite are situated in Highbridge Street.  More information about the relationship between the Town Council, Epping Forest District Council and Essex County Council can be found on The Role of Your Town Council page.

The Town Council achieved Quality Council Status in 2004 and is committed to further the prosperity of the town through the promotion of tourism and the regeneration of the Town Centre as a retail area.  The Town Council Strategic Plan can be found on the documents page of this web site.