Home | Blog | Contact Us | Site Map
Cinema MapBed and BreakfastNews Events WASP

Waltham Abbey
Town Council
Town Hall
Highbridge St
Waltham Abbey
Essex EN9 1DE

Phone: 01992 714949
Fax: 01992 763774

Town Council Offices Are Open From:
9AM - 5PM
Monday - Friday


The History of Waltham Abbey Town Council

Waltham Abbey Town Council came into being in 1974 at the time of Local Government Reorganisation when the former Waltham Holy Cross Urban District Council applied for parish status. The main functions of the former urban district council were transferred to the newly formed Epping Forest District Council however many functions such as Cemetery and Parks, Allotments, Markets were passed to the successor parish of Waltham Abbey Town Council.

The Council's eleven members are elected by the community for a four year term of office. A Mayor is elected annually from among the elected Members of the Council. The Council is administered by the Town Clerk and various administrative staff and is responsible for an increasing number of services including the 42 acre Town Mead Leisure Park which includes Town Mead Bar and the Mead Function Suite. There are a further three recreation grounds,  adventure play areas, two cemeteries, allotment sites and the twice weekly retail market. The Tourist Information Centre and the Town Hall with the Cornmill Function Suite are situated in Highbridge Street.

The Town Council achieved Quality Council Status in 2004 and is committed to further the prosperity of the town through the promotion of tourism and the regeneration of the Town Centre as a retail area. The Town Council Strategic Plan can be found on the documents page of this web site.

The Council recently adopted the King  Harold logo designed by the Tourist Information Centre as its marketing signature.


Site design and construction by arooney web design